Click the buttons below to navigate between the different positions up for election.

Mayor  City Council, Place 5

Please Note: Early voting will begin on November 28 and run through December 4. Election day is on December 8.
Learn more about the runoff election on the Hays County website. 

The San Marcos Area Chamber of Commerce is working to provide information to voters on where candidates stand on key issues that may impact their business here in San Marcos.

The Chamber asked all candidates the same five questions that align with the chamber’s key priorities. Candidates were given two minutes to respond to each question and were not provided the questions ahead of time. Answers from the candidates are in-full and have not been edited.

The current questions and answers available were asked before the November 4 election. The Chamber will be updating these questions with new questions for the runoff as soon as possible.

November 4 Election Results

City of San Marcos: In unofficial election results released by the Hays County Elections Office at 10 p.m. on Tuesday, Nov. 3, Alyssa Garza and Shane Scott have been elected to San Marcos City Council Place 3 and 4, respectively. A runoff election will be called for the Mayoral race and City Council Place 5 as no candidate gained more than 50 percent of the vote in those races.

Incumbent Mayor Jane Hughson and Juan Miguel Arredondo will remain on the ballot for the Dec. 8 runoff for Mayor, with Omar Baca and Mark Gleason continuing to vie for the Place 5 seat.

2020 brought a record turnout in Hays County with 109,386 or 71.2% of the 153,614 registered voters casting ballots in the election.


Jane Hughson 8,902(44.75%)
Juan Miguel Arredondo 6,502 (32.69%)
Michael Hathaway II 1,887 (9.49%)
J.M. Harris 1,755 (8.82%)
Randy Dethrow 845 (4.25%)

City Council Place 3:

Alyssa Garza 13,785 (71.43%)
Ed Mihalkanin 5,514 (28.57%)

City Council Place 4:

Shane Scott 10,188 (55.11%)
Mark Rockeymoore 8,299 (44.89%)

City Council Place 5, Unexpired Term:

Mark Gleason 6,674 (35.36%)
Omar Baca 6,150 (32.59%)
Zach Sambrano 6,049(32.05%);

Runoff Election: Dec. 8

A runoff election will be held Dec. 8 for Mayor and City Council Place 5. Further polling information will be announced once the runoff is officially called.

The Nov. 3 election will be canvassed, and newly elected Council Members Garza and Scott will be sworn in virtually on Monday, Nov. 16 at 5:30 p.m.

Full election results, including County, State and Federal elections, are posted online by Hays County at County Election Page.  For media inquiries, contact 

Discover Unbeatable Summer Hot Deals from Chamber Members! Explore Now